English & Media Studies Faculty Revision

English Language

 The GCSE English Language specification can be found at http://www.wjec.co.uk/qualifications/english/english-gcse/

Our new GCSE English Language syllabus presents us with some different challenges:

  • Exams at the end of Year 10; coursework done under exam conditions with short prepared notes and a study of the changes in spoken English.
  • 40% of the assessment will be by an examination based on the reading of non-fiction texts, such as magazine/newspaper articles and writing based on information and ideas, such as letters and leaflets.
  • 60% will be done under ‘controlled conditions’. This will take the form of a supervised exam on poetry, a play and a novel from a different culture to ours. This will also include a speaking and listening assessment which takes place throughout the course.

Specimen Assessment Materials and Mark schemes for English Language can be accessed  at http://resources.wjec.co.uk/Pages/ResourceSingle.aspx?rIid=710

English Literature

The GCSE English Literature specification can be found at http://www.wjec.co.uk/qualifications/english/english-literature-gcse/

Resources to support English Literature can be accessed by following the link at http://resources.wjec.co.uk/Pages/ResourceSingle.aspx?rIid=711

The English Literature course is a demanding one. We expect to enter the great majority of students for this course, which is taught alongside English Language, but it is dependent on students keeping up-to-date with their work.

There are two exam papers:

  • One deals with writing about unseen poetry and a novel from a different culture
  • the other paper involves writing about a play and a modern novel.
  • 25% of the course will be assessed by a controlled assessment comparing the themes of a selection of poetry with a Shakespeare play. This will be done under examination-like conditions with the aid of short, prepared class notes.

There are many resources that students can access through the shared area for English.  All students have access to Sound Training resources at http://www.soundtraining.co.uk

User: students@crickhowell Password: crickhowell1

In terms of general revision for English, there are dictionary sites/apps, such as GCSE POD, for which you have a user name and password, is very useful for English Language and Literature revision.

We highly recommend York Notes to accompany set texts for English Literature and many students use YouTube videos such as Mr Bruff – https://www.youtube.com/user/mrbruff

BBC Bitesize for GCSE English Language – http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/zr9d7ty

BBC Bitesize for GCSE English Literature – http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/zckw2hv

Coursework Page—../subjects/english/mrs-thomas/key-stage-four/coursework-page/

English Exam—/subjects/english/mrs-thomas/key-stage-four/english-exam-2/

Descriptive Writing—/subjects/english/mrs-thomas/key-stage-four/english-exam-2/descriptive-writing/

Persuasive Techniques—/subjects/english/mrs-thomas/key-stage-four/english-exam-2/persuasive-techniques/

Literature Exam Questions—/subjects/english/mrs-thomas/key-stage-four/literature-exam-questions/

Of Mice & Men Revision—/subjects/english/mrs-thomas/key-stage-four/literature-exam-questions/of-mice-men-revision/

Andrew Moore Study Guide – OF MICE & MEN—/subjects/english/mrs-thomas/key-stage-four/literature-exam-questions/of-mice-men-revision/andrew-moore-study-guide-of-mice-men/

Revision Guide—/subjects/english/mrs-thomas/key-stage-four/literature-exam-questions/revision-guide-literature/

English Homework—/subjects/english/mrs-thomas/mrs-thomas-english-homework/

Key Stage Five—/subjects/english/mrs-thomas/key-stage-5/


Coursework Schedule—/subjects/english/mrs-thomas/key-stage-5/coursework-schedule/

Key Stage Four—/subjects/english/mrs-thomas/key-stage-four/

Year 11 Revision Booklet for January 2016—https://www.crickhowell-hs.powys.sch.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/LIT-UNIT-1-Revision-booklet.pdf

English Department Revision Classes—https://www.crickhowell-hs.powys.sch.uk/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/English-Department-Revision-Classes.pdf

New Revision Help for English Language—https://folders.crickhowell-hs.powys.sch.uk/hap/api/myfiles-permalink/R/Student/Subjects/English/NEW%20REVISION%20HELP%20FOR%20ENGLISH%20LANGUAGE

English Newsletter—https://www.crickhowell-hs.powys.sch.uk/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/Newsletter-2014.pdf

Features of Nonnarrative forms worksheet—https://www.crickhowell-hs.powys.sch.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/Features-of-Nonnarrative-forms-worksheet.pdf

Y11 Talking Mock Unit 2 Sec B—https://www.crickhowell-hs.powys.sch.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/Y11-Talking-Mock-Unit-2-Sec-B.pdf

Revision Cards delete—https://www.crickhowell-hs.powys.sch.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/Revision-Cards-delete.pdf

Reading List—https://www.crickhowell-hs.powys.sch.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/English-Reading-Lists.pdf

Media Studies

The GCSE Media Studies specification can be accessed here:
http://www.wjec.co.uk/GCSE%20Media%20Studies%20%20New%20Unitised%20Specification%20%28 12%2009%2014%29.pdf?language_id=1

Specimen Assessment Materials and Mark schemes for Media Studies can be accessed here:

Media Studies Text Book It would be useful for students to have a copy of the WJEC text book for Media Studies:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/WJEC-GCSE-MediaStudies/dp/1908682213/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1448399499&sr=8- 2&keywords=wjec+media+studies

BBC Bitesize for GCSE Media Studies: