Ski Team win Welsh Schools Championships

Crickhowell Girls’ Ski Team won the Welsh Schools Championships in Llangrannog on Sunday despite appalling weather. The girls’ team (Saskia Henry-Davies (Captain), Arwen Hobson, Erin Higgins and Manon Higgins) skied superbly winning the competition outright – a big improvement on their already impressive bronze team medal a year ago.  This means that they qualify for the British School Championships in Stoke on 17th November where the top 25 school ski teams in Britain battle it out.

Individual results were very strong too, showing how Crickhowell skiers are really developing and are ranked highly in Wales, helped by the start of a ski race club in Pontypool last September. Saskia won gold for Under 16 Registered skiers with Arwen winning silver in the same category. Erin Higgins, who posted the fastest time of the Crickhowell skiers, won silver in the highly competitive Under 14 Registered skiers category with Manon Higgins winning bronze in the same category. We also now have the nucleus of a boys’ team with Daniel Woollard from Year 8, who skied in his first Welsh Schools Championships.

Crickhowell Ski Squad are keen to hear from any skiers interested in joining, both male and female. Pontypool Ski Slope will shortly open for the winter season allowing skiers to learn from scratch and also to progress their skiing. Torfaen Ski Club also meets every Wednesday evening and enables skiers to learn and progress on the dry slope. It would also be a useful way for pupils going on the school ski trip to learn or improve before they go.  In addition, there is now also a race club on a Thursday which admits skiers once they reach a standard where they can begin to train to race.

Also: Ski Team Success in Welsh National Championships

If there are any Crickhowell skiers who are interested in improving their skiing and ultimately skiing for Crickhowell School please contact Julia Hawkins on

Above: Crickhowell Girls receiving their “Ski” for winning the Welsh Schools’ Competition
Below: Photo call for the winning teams with their trophies.
Erin and Manon Higgins come second and third in Wales (under 14)
Saskia and Arwen come first and second in Wales (under 16)