School Governors

What is a School Governor?

A governor is someone who:

  • Is a volunteer
  • Cares about teaching, learning and children
  • Represents those people with a key interest in the school, including parents, staff, the local community and the LA
  • Is part of a team which accepts responsibility for everything a school does
  • Has time to commit to meetings and other occasions when needed
  • Is willing to learn
  • Is able to act as a critical friend who supports the school but also challenges and asks questions about how the school works and the standards it achieves
  • Acts as a link between parents, the local community, the LA and the school

Our Governors

At Crickhowell High School, our Governing Body is made up of a committed group of individuals, who each serve a term of office of four years. The composition of the Governing Body is as follows:

  • Parent Governors
  • Teacher Governors
  • Staff Governors
  • Local Authority Governors
  • Community Governors
  • The Headteacher
  • Co-opted / non-voting Governors

Details of the Governors currently serving on our Governing Body as set out below.

Parent Governors are elected as representatives of the interests of parents of students currently attending the school and instrumental in expressing the concerns and opinions of the majority of parents.


Name of GovernorType of Governor
Mr Simon BennettParent
Mr Mark BrianCommunity
Mr Nigel BrinnLA
Cllr Jackie CharltonLA
Mrs Jennifer CookLA
Mr Richard DinsdaleCommunity
Mr Paul EvansCommunity
Mr Andrew Fryer (Chair)Community
Mr Rhys JeremiahTeacher
Mr Chris JonesParent
Miss Claire JonesHeadteacher
Mr Terry KermanStaff
Ms Katherine MasonParent
Cllr John MorrisLA
Mr Dave NewberryLA
Mrs Vicki PriceParent
Mr Mark Rhydderch-RobertsLA
Cllr Kathryn SilkLA
Mrs Heidi Waggett (Vice Chair)Community
Dr Geraint WilliamsTeacher
Mrs Jaselle WilliamsParent

Should you wish to contact our Governors, please do so via the Clerk by emailing

Governors Annual Repot to Parents

Please see the latest Annual report below:
Awaiting Doc
Previous Annual Reports:
Awaiting Doc