A Curriculum Pioneer School

A new curriculum for Wales - a curriculum for life

A New Curriculum For Wales – A Curriculum For Life

Crickhowell High School prides itself on being a progressive and innovative school and, as such, has taken a position at the forefront of educational development as part of the Pioneer Schools Network, a group of 120 schools drawn from rural and urban locations across Wales, responsible for the design and development of the new curriculum.  These schools are a mix of English-medium, Welsh-medium, primary, secondary, special and faith schools and our work is supporting schools to prepare for the implementation of the new curriculum.

We are also one of 60 schools selected to lead on the ‘new deal’ for the education workforce, which will ensure the teaching profession is supported and developed to confidently deliver the new curriculum and ensure teaching practitioners are offered high quality, professional learning opportunities throughout their careers.

A new curriculum for Wales will be developed with education professionals across Wales with the aim of it being available to settings and schools by September 2018.

Schools will have some flexibility in determining how and when they begin first teaching the new curriculum. The Welsh Government’s ambition is that by 2021, schools will be using the new curriculum to underpin teaching and learning for children and   young people aged 3-16.

The New Curriculum Explained – In Brief

There are four purposes at the heart of the new curriculum, forming the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support children and young people in Wales to be:

  • ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.

The new curriculum will feature four key elements:

  • six sreas of learning and experience from 3 to 16
  • three cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence
  • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16
  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.

The curriculum will be organised into six areas of learning and experience:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and well-being
  • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16)
  • Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages)
  • Mathematics and numeracy
  • Science and technology (including computer science).

The Welsh Government proposed timeline for the roll-out of the new curriculum is:

  • 2015 – 2016: Pioneer Network established
  • 2015 – 2018: Design and development phase of the new curriculum
  • September 2016: Digital Competence Framework available
  • 2017 – 2021: Practical support to schools to prepare for the new curriculum
  • September 2018: New curriculum and assessment arrangements available
  • September 2021: New curriculum and assessment arrangements in place cross Wales

If you would like to read further on this subject, please visit our eLibrary at https://www.crickhowell-hs.powys.sch.uk/new-welsh-curriculum-elibrary/